Temptation

LO is it all about the moneyWhenever I start talking about ethics in the workplace those around me hear my passion and often chime in with their own opinions or experiences.

Such is the case with one young woman who told me an inspiring story, which she agreed I could share with my blog readers, as long as I do not divulge her name or city.  Let’s call her Linda.

Linda works for a prestigious law firm in a large metropolis of influential people who have the kind of legal issues lawyers dream about.

A manager from a competing law firm asked her to lunch on the pretense that he wanted to talk to her about joining his firm.  Not wanting to quit her current job, she immediately turned down the invitation.  After his persistent invites and discussions with her husband, Linda finally did accept the lunch invitation at an elegant restaurant with an elaborate menu that tempted Linda to go off her diet.

Before the food arrived her host asked “How about a glass of wine?”

“Seriously?” she laughed shaking her head no. “It’s the middle of the day! I have to go back to work.”

“Oh, but we are celebrating.  I am going to make you rich.”  He placed a stack of $100.00 bills on the gleaming white plate in front of her. She had never seen so many large bills stacked up before and wondered if they were even real; or perhaps a joke on her set up by someone at her firm.

“All you have to do to keep those bills, and more coming, is give me your client list today and update me each time your firm signs a new client.” He then set a memory stick and his business card on top of the stack.

There was silence for several minutes as the tempting thoughts of a new set of golf clubs for her husband floated into her brain. Finally Linda said, “You don’t know me very well.  First of all, if you think money will tempt me, think again.  More importantly I do not cheat.  I don’t cheat on my diet, my husband and certainly not on my employer or the trust of our clients.  You offend me and whoever sent you here offends me.”  Then she walked out.

What a cool story about someone adhering to their ethical and moral compass

About Kathy Sweeney

Avid Writer; Secure In The Word; Solutions Provider For Improved Workplace Ethics
This entry was posted in Business Ethics, Lessons Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment