Violence, Ethics and Crazy People

Violence, ethics and crazy people in the workplace…sometimes it is difficult to ascertain which one you may be dealing with but keeping that “moral compass” front and center will help in these situations.

A reader wanted me to relate an event in his life as a successful business owner, in hopes that it will help other business owners who may be faced with a potential for violence at work. He asked I not use his or his employees names. Let’s call him Bill.

Bill approved the hiring of the manager’s daughter in one of his branch offices. He knew they were good friends with a peaceful, strong relationship that would not impact the office environment. A recent high school graduate, the daughter had not yet determined what to do with her life but was unwavering in her quest to be like her successful, Branch Manager mother. That was until she met John.

John was a high school drop out who dabbled in drugs and gangster type behavior. The manager, Ruth, told Bill about the new boyfriend more in an ‘oh dear me’ type conversation than an actual report. Both commented that ‘this can’t be good’. No further updates were shared on the budding romance for several months until the early morning warning call.

Sleepily Bill answered his cell phone “Hello?”

“It’s me, Ruth.”

“What’s wrong? Is the office ok? Was there a fire?”

“No, no. The office is okay but I have a situation and I am terribly worried. You know I have to be at work today. Something happened last night. I haven’t slept yet!”

Very alert now he asked “What happened? Are you alright?”

“Yes and for now so is my daughter but John threatened to kill her last night. She broke up with him a few days ago and last night he pounded on our door and shouted horrible things! I told him I would call the police so he ran. Later he came back with a rifle and walked up and down in our front yard screaming things! Oh, I am so scared he may come back. I can’t leave her at home but I have conference calls and employee reviews today. I need to be at my computer. I need to bring her to work but he knows where that is too. I have no where else I can hide her for the day. What should I do?”

Stunned, he said, “I will take care of it. Go to the office, both of you. Leave now, get there early. Keep the door locked! Be careful leaving your car. Tell the other three employees about this problem. I don’t want anyone in the parking lot. Once they get to the office make them stay there and keep the door locked. I am calling a security firm – I have no other choice. I am thousands of miles away or I would come there myself and ….never mind, I will get a guard over there as soon as I can. Remember, stay inside.”

A quick internet search provided a local security firm. After listening to Bill’s problem, Otto said “This is a tough one. I can not send any of my security people into this situation. Even though they are armed they do not really know how to handle this kind of thing.”

Bill’s mind whirled…who to call next? What to do? Oh this could kill his business in that area! What? This could kill one of his people! What to do???

“Look, you have to help me. I am all the way on the other coast, I can’t get over there. What can you suggest for me to do?”

“I will go. I have a Permit to act at this level and I have the experience as a former police officer to handle this situation. I own the company. I do not normally take the security jobs but in this case, well, I want to help you.”

A huge sigh of relief, “Thank you.”

“But be warned, I will be armed. Now tell me the layout quickly and I will get over there. I live about six miles away so lets beat morning traffic.”

The branch office was on the second floor of a two-story walk up. The single office on first floor was empty with a “For Lease” sign on its front door. The landing at the top of the stairs was large enough for a chair where Otto positioned himself, facing the front door which was fully visible across the first floor lobby. There was only that one exit and entrance. The back door had been locked by the Landlord with no shared key. “A clear violation of code”, thought Otto, “but good for me today.” Employees of the two businesses on the second floor must pass him coming and going. He advised all of them to stay in for the day and to keep the office doors locked. He sat and waited with a clearly visible rifle propped up against his leg and his Sig Sauer at hand.

Nothing happened that morning but at noon some of the employees wanted to leave for lunch. Otto walked them down stairs and to their cars. Everyone was tense, knowing the situation must be dangerous. Most did not come back from lunch. Otto stayed visible at the front door until 3:00pm then back to his chair.

For three days this was the ritual. Employees needed their income so each one came back into work, feeling confident as they smiled and said good morning to Otto. Finally on Friday Ruth heard from John’s mother. John had been arrested on a larceny charge. While in jail he wrote an apology letter to his mother which included a promise to leave all of his old girlfriends alone. He asked her to forgive him and tell everyone they have nothing to worry about, once he is released from jail he will leave town and start a new life. Ruth didn’t know weather to believe it or not but John’s mother was so full of relief and happiness that he would leave her alone it was clear she believed his story. “He is better gone from here. We are better if he is gone from here.”

After a long, moral, ethical responsibility conversation Bill and Ruth agreed Otto could go home and stay there. None of the employees took the personal time off that was offered. All of them felt good about being protected while at work, and thanked management for standing up to a bully.

“Bill, you could have ignored this, you know.” Ruth said as they ended the weekly managers meeting. “It was really a domestic issue. What a big expense to have a guy sit here all week cradling a rifle!”

“It was the right thing to do,” Bill said simply. “Now, go home and have a good weekend.”

About Kathy Sweeney

Avid Writer; Secure In The Word; Solutions Provider For Improved Workplace Ethics
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment